You know nothing, Jon Snow

All right, I finished the fifth volume A Dance with Dragons of the epic fantasy series A Song of Ice and Fire by American novelist George R.R. Martin. Loved every bit of it. Though, I was totally devastated by the last chapter by the viewpoint of my favorite character, Jon Snow, almost in tears. Our beloved, young Lord Commander stabbed by his own men? And for what reason? Just because he’s helping homeless and poor wildlings? Now, I really hope he survives the attack or if he dies, someone resurrects him or the series will completely lose value for me. Yes, I’d still read the remaining two books but not with the same enthusiasm and passion. Are you listening, Martin?

This series has been so heartbreaking for me with so many good people dying and the protagonists, Starks, unfortunately, got the winter a bit early, some dead, remaining scattered from each other. Even then, I couldn’t stop myself from reading it my eyes out. I think the gritty realism was what kept me hooked. Jon Snow, from the starting, has been my hot favorite. I don’t really know the reason. Maybe because he was unfairly treated by his step-mother and still remained silent, never said a word of protest. He goes to the Night’s Watch and becomes a responsible man in black from a soft, green lad.

Well, I don’t think he’s really dead as his parentage is still a mystery. Ned Stark did say Jon Snow is his son and fostered him with his true-born children. Many A Song of Ice and Fire (ASOIAF hereon) fans, including me, believe that Jon Snow is not Eddard Stark’s son but of Rhaegar Targaryen and Lyanna Stark, Eddard Stark’s younger syster who died in the end of Robert’s Rebellion. If you remember, Eddard Stark was haunted by a certain unknown promise he did to his dying sister in the Tower of Joy. Could it be a promise related to Jon Snow? Maybe Lyanna didn’t want Robert to know that she loved Rhaegar and not him. Maybe she feared that Robert will kill Jon Snow if he comes to know that he’s Rhaegar’s son?  Seemingly, she promised Ned to keep Jon safe from Robert. And Ned abandoned his honor for the promise he did to his sweet sister and brought Jon home as his bastard son. There are also some rumors that Jon Snow might be the Azor Ahai reborn, the man who will save the realm of men by the threat of  the Others and their bloodthirsty undead, the wights. There are many evidences, rather indications for this, like Melisandre seeing Jon Snow with a flaming sword in his hand in her flames. Though, she probably fails to figure out the true meaning. She did warn Jon of ‘daggers in the dark’ and too bad Jon didn’t pay heed to her. If Jon Snow is really Rhaegar and Lyanna’s son then ( I hope so!) it explains the significance of the name of the series, A Song of Ice (Stark) and Fire (Targaryen). Since Ned Stark’s dead, the only man who may have an idea about the promise and possibly Jon Snow’s parentage is Howland Reed. Ned Stark assaulted the Tower of Joy with six men including himself. one of them is Howland Reed. The Tower of Joy was guarded by the three knights of the kingsguard. One of them was Arthur Dayne, Rhaegar’s best friend and at his time best knight of the Seven Kingdoms. Now why would Rahegar take such a pain to guard the girl he supposedly abducted? Why would he give a damn? Maybe he feared for the safety of his son and heir? Everyone died except Ned and Howland in the fight that ensued. So, we may see some of Howland in the two remaining books. If all of this is false, though, I just hope Jon isn’t dead. I wish he survives the whole series and becomes the king on the Iron Throne. You can’t kill Jon, Martin, you just can’t! There are way too many mysteries remain to be uncovered about him.

2 thoughts on “You know nothing, Jon Snow

  1. Oh, you have come to the same conclusion as me :). I don’t really believe Jon Snow is dead either, my thoughts are that he will warg into Ghost or Melisandre will do her red magic.

    What’s really tragic about this book is that i”ll have to wait till next year to know what happens next 😦

    • One year… or more. Martin is such a lazy writer- just kidding.
      It was only after I’d written this post did I come to know that the concept R+L=J is believed by many others in forums etc.
      I do hope he’s that, and also the prophesied Azor Ahai who will save the world from the Others. It would be cool.

Leave a Reply

