My Left 4 Dead 3 Wish List

If you have played the Left 4 Dead series then you’ll agree how compulsively addictive it can be. Especially the co-op part. There was something about those zombie hordes that seemed overwhelming at first when they appeared to come from out of nowhere. Or that time when that Tank came raging after you and your friends and you were clueless as to what action to take. Who could forget the cries from the Witch waiting for you to turn a corner? Left 4 Dead 1 & 2 had the campaigns to provide the right atmosphere, sounds, and ambiance for a horrifying zombie apocalypse. It’s easily one of my all time favorite game series.

Valve has not yet announced Left 4 Dead 3 and I don’t know whether they will. I do hope they do. Here’s my Left 4 Dead 3 wishlist:

1) Sandbox: Wouldn’t a Left 4 Dead look absolutely amazing in an open world with miles of freedom? A bit like the worlds in GTA series and the never ending world of Far Cry2! L4D 1 and 2 were brilliant games but the lack of freedom always marred the gameplay experience. Whenever I tried to run away from those flesh eating monsters I was always thwarted by an iron fence or a stone wall depicting the end of the world in L4D. Hope this changes in L4D 3.

 2) Larger campaign: Okay, campaign length was probably my biggest gripe in L4D. It was   simply TOOOO SHORT! Yes, you could definitely re-play it or could simply jump on to the versus mode but for me, the real clincher was always the co-op campaign. These games were great mainly due to their amazing co-op experience! The unmatched fun of playing with your friends and fighting zombies for your life like you’re actually in the middle of a Zombie Apocalypse. Exciting, wasn’t it!

3) More ‘Special Zombies’: Hmm. This, I think, was the feature other than the co-op which made these games a class above from other zombie based games. That sudden attack by the Hunter, that little midget Jockey riding on your shoulders, that bile vomiting fat guy Boomer, Smoker silently strangling your friend in a corner, a Tank rushing after you to crush you or to throw huge vehicles at you, low weeps by a calm witch or shrill cries by a startled one while chopping off your body in tiny pieces simultaneously, all created an thrilling heart-pounding gameplay experience. More of these ‘Special Zombies’ would be great.

4) A brand new engine: Do I sound insane? Yes, I agree that the fine-tuned Source engine used in L4D games looked great. But assuming Valve releases the sequel in 2013, or 2014, or even 2015, wouldn’t the engine appear massively outdated? How about a whole new engine? Which isn’t based on Source but specifically created for Left 4 Dead 3 with newer and sharper textures? Now, do I sound insane?

That’s all for me. If Valve makes these improvements, I believe, Left 4 Dead 3 would be a perfect game and I will be a happy gamer. Though, I will buy it anyway. If ye think I left out anything, please let me know in the comments below. Thanks for visiting my blog.

3 thoughts on “My Left 4 Dead 3 Wish List

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on ‘The Walking Dead’ | The Grim Reader

Leave a Reply

