My New Year’s resolution (Yeah, just one this time)

First of all, a very happy new year to all of you and your loved ones. May this year turn out full of happiness, enjoyment and fun for everyone. By the way, have you decided on your New Year’s resolution(s) yet? No? Why not? It’s the latest fashion!

I don’t really believe in resolutions made at New Year—perhaps I’m being too cynical but they seem a bit showy to me. I don’t think people are as keen to fulfil them as they are of their declaration. And you know, if you have to begin or improve something or make any promise to yourself, why wait for the end of the year? Why not start now?

My personal experience with them doesn’t help, either. I find I’m unable to keep any promise I make with myself on the start of a year. At least not in the form I’d hoped. Like, few years back, one of my New Year’s resolutions was to write a page everyday in my notebook, but I could maintain the schedule until only a week. Instead, I set up a WordPress blog and started writing blog posts on it, and that too pretty infrequently.

All the same, I think New Year is as good a time as any to make resolutions and promises and oaths. It is, you see, kind of a new chapter in your life. You can either fill it with poetry or smear it with ink.

As I’ve said, I lack enough willpower to keep several New Year’s resolutions. So, this year I’m confining myself to focus on only one and am sincerely, fervently hoping that I will be able to generate enough fortitude to keep it throughout this year. After all, it’s just one resolution, right?

The resolution is pretty simple—at least on paper: This year I just want to be a better person.

You would think I have a puffed-up opinion of myself, but I like to believe that I’m largely a good guy. Yes, I’ve done a lot of bad things, which I do regret. As they say, nobody is perfect, and I’m no exception to it. But it is, I think, fairly safe to say that I’m better than many. For one, I’m kind to animals. An animal life is as important to me as a human life. I’ve never stoned or hurt any animal in any way ever in my life, be it a pet or a stray. I think my family values have a lot to do with this. My parents taught me to behave benevolently with animals right from the moment I could walk.

And yet…

I’ve already admitted that I’m not perfect, no more than anyone, and naturally I have, um, imperfections. The foremost of them and the one you will most likely notice when you’re with me (you should be so lucky) is my fragile temper. I lose my cool in the blink of an eye, and often with no particularly legitimate reason. It is a small consolation is that I always regret it afterwards. Even more galling thing is that I get angry at only those people who I care about and who really, really matter in my life. Thus, I keep offending my friends and kin. So… would make efforts in bridling my anger issues.

Of course, there are a lot more flaws in my person. But if I were to name every one of them, I will be writing till the trees begin to grow jewels and the oceans desiccate. In simple terms, forever. Moreover, I have to go start working on my New Year’s resolution. See ya!

Leave a Reply

