Should I Publish My Short Story Here?

Help! I am in a bit of a conundrum. I’ve written a short story and want to know if it’s any good or not. Initially, I wanted to show it to my school English teacher, but the story, especially its end, came out a little too gruesome–I can almost imagine her wrinkling her sharp nose.

So my question is this: Should I post the story here? I’m not afraid about somebody stealing it, because, frankly, I don’t care. I wrote this story just to gauge my own writing skills, and I don’t plan to sell it. Of course I’m not sure if anybody would buy it, really.

At first I thought I could judge my own story, and save the trouble of showing it to my hypersensitive teacher, but I realised that is close to impossible. My opinion about it tends to vary between two extremes. Sometimes I want to erase it to avoid potential embarrassment, and other times I love it so much I end spending my whole day clutching its print-out in my hands and reading it again and again with an absurd degree of pride.

So what do you say? Should I post it here? I will post it only if at least one person agrees to tell me its weaknesses and strengths and possible suggestions for improvement.

Just for the record, it’s a vampire story.

Thanks.

 EDIT: To show your interest, please leave a comment. 

2 thoughts on “Should I Publish My Short Story Here?

  1. Well, as I know a little about the Kine and their ways, versus mortals’, ABSOLUTELY NOT! Humans simply cannot take gore without taking it the wrong way, ESPECIALLY if you be a student in this day’s world. Nor can they take slavery, or graphic sexual orientations, regardless of how romantically hypnotic and addictive it is. Publish only safe stories here, unless you are me, and then, I hold three-quarter’s back, lest I offend the weaklings.

Leave a Reply

